KUALA LUMPUR, Dec. 23, 2009 (News Agencies) .
The use of the term bak kut teh halal will not only confuse Muslims but it is also against Islamic fiqh, reported Utusan Malaysia. Bak kut teh is a herbal broth traditionally made with pork ribs. A halal version of the dish which avoids pork was recently introduced at a Tourism Ministry food fair. The revamped version contains chicken, seafood or vegetables instead of pork.
The daily quoted Islamic Development Department of Malaysia (Jakim) deputy director-general Lokman Abdul Rahman as saying that bak kut teh could not be deemed halal because it still carried an “illegal name” under Islamic law.
He stressed that the dish would not be issued any halal certificate based on procedures set by Jakim.
“There may be people who will apply for the certificate but Jakim will not certify the food as halal because it is very clear that it does not comply with Islamic law.
Lokman said the name bak kut teh referred to soup and pork used to prepare the dish.
“My recommendation is for the relevant parties to use another name for bak kut teh halal,” he said.